Once a part of Tuguegarao, Solana was established as a municipality and named after Governor General Antonio Urbiztondo Marquez dela Solana on August 18, 1851. Augmenting its first Ybanag inhabitants were immigrants from Pangasinan, Ilocos and few Tagalog provinces.
The many prudent elders who served as foundation were Señores Ligot, Juan Bayone, Jose Balauitan, Mariano Lasam, Vicente Maddela, Cayetano Miguel, Felipe Lorenzo, Antonio de Asis and Tomas Pagulayan. Men like Cayetano, Miguel and Felipe Lorenzo were among the worthy Ilocano traders. While the town was progressing, Alonzo Ligot followed the footsteps of these two men. Together with Castillo, Romero, Santo Tomas, Alcantara, Marzan and Singson, they headed their own group of new Solana citizens. Those coming from Pangasinan were enticed by Pio Guaring, while those from Capiz were headed by Lacerna. Those from Tuguegarao were lured by Vicente Carag and Gabriel Lasam.
With the combined pioneering drive of these local leaders and those of the conquestadores, the new town saw much progress.
During the Japanese occupation, the government of Tuguegarao evacuated to barrio Natappian.
President Carlos P. Garcia inaugurated the new municipal hall in Solana on January 18, 1959.
Solana has vast fertile agricultural lands and can look forward to the near future as the "Rice Granary of Cagayan."